Please consider saving paper, ink, and electricity instead of printing.
Seek. Serve. Grow.

I love the community here at Bethel. We are a 500-member support group. I am going to miss that more than anything.
Elizabeth Shelly ’12

Employee Directory: Perry White

Perry White

Perry White

  • B.A. Luther College 1983
  • M.M. University of Missouri-Kansas City 1988
  • D.M.A. University of Oklahoma 1998
About Perry:

Perry D. White currently serves as the 14th President of Bethel College, North Newton, KS, a position he has held since 2010. Prior to his arrival in central Kansas, he served as Vice President of Advancement and Admissions at Silver Lake College in Manitowoc, WI and as Vice President for Advancement at Monmouth College.

Before his move into College Administration, Perry served six years as the Director of Choral Activities and Music Department Chair at Monmouth College in Monmouth, IL. His previous teaching experience includes: serving as Director of Choral Activities at Kilgore College in Kilgore, Texas; Director of Choral Activities at Iowa Central Community College in Ft. Dodge; and Director of Vocal Activities at Winnetonka High School in Kansas City, Missouri.

Perry holds a Bachelor of Arts degree in Vocal Music Education from Luther College in Decorah, Iowa where he studied with the esteemed Weston Noble. In 1988 he received his Master of Music degree in Choral Conducting from the University of Missouri at Kansas City under the tutelage of Dr. Eph Ehly. Upon completion of his dissertation (The Whole Conductor: Weston Noble's Philosophies on the Psychology of Conducting and Musicianship), Perry received a Doctor of Musical Arts degree in Choral Conducting from the University of Oklahoma in May of 1998, where he studied with Dr. Dennis Shrock.

A member of the American Choral Directors Association and Music Educators National Conference, Dr. White is listed in the 52nd edition of Who’s Who in America, the 22nd edition of Who's Who in the American Midwest, and the 7th edition of Who’s Who Among America’s Teachers. He has received the ACDA Musician's Medal from the Iowa Choral Directors Association, the Michael Schaefer Scholarship for Promising Conductors and the Gail Boyd de Stwolinsky Award for Professional Excellence from the University of Oklahoma. He was the winner of the 1986 inaugural student conducting competition sponsored by the Missouri chapter of the American Choral Directors Association.