Subscribe to RSS

Honors convocation recognizes students who embody Bethel’s core values

1200px 650px

NORTH NEWTON, KAN. – Each fall, Bethel College’s fall convocation schedule includes in it somewhere an “Honors Convocation,” this year on Nov. 11.

In addition to featuring a presentation by that year’s winner of the Ralph P. Schrag Distinguished Teaching Award, this convocation is “an occasion for us to recognize and celebrate the qualities that Bethel lifts up as key values in our educational mission,” said Brad Born, vice president for academic affairs.

Bethel’s “four core values” are discipleship, scholarship, service and integrity – “qualities and characteristics,” Born said, “that are expressed most vividly and meaningfully through [student] achievements and actions. You students embody and enact the Bethel mission.

“So today we honor many of you by name for how you model the four central values of our mission: authentic discipleship; academic achievement; committed service; and integrity,” Born continued. “In recognizing some of you, we inevitably miss others who also manifest these qualities in our classrooms and residence halls and playing fields every day.

“As we recognize students by name, we also celebrate our collective educational enterprise, the common ground we share as a learning community.”


● Student chaplains

Leland Brown (junior, Galveston, Texas)

Benjamin Kreider (junior, North Newton)

Katelyn Melgren (junior, Olathe)

Marvin Rice (junior, Ontario, Calif.)

Alli Rudeen (junior, Osage City)

Jerrell Williams (junior, Garland, Texas)

● Informal Worship coordinator – Tim Regier (sophomore, Newton)

● Wednesday Hymn Sing coordinators – Rachel Evans (senior, Bel Aire) and Joe Kondziola (senior, North Newton)


Honor students who have completed at least 30 hours of work at Bethel with a cumulative GPA of 3.80 or above, the level of “summa cum laude” as defined for graduation.

● Sophomores

Abigail Bechtel, Henderson, Neb.

Olivia Gehring, Manhattan

Kara Hiebert, Fresno, Calif.

Bryce Hostetler, Dodge City

Jennifer Kaufman, Moundridge

Mika Patron, North Newton

Erin Regier, Newton

Tim Regier, Newton

Elizabeth Schrag, Newton

Jill Siebert, Topeka

Renae Stucky, Moundridge

Emily Wedel, Hutchinson

● Juniors

Jessica Ebenkamp, Conway Springs

Dylan Jantz, Newton

Benjamin Kreider, North Newton

Karina Ortman, Marion, S.D.

Melinda Regehr, Whitewater

Leah Towle, Lawrence

Jesse Voth-Gaeddert, Hesston

Madelyn Weaver, Hesston

Madison Wiles, Hutchinson

● Seniors

Kendra Alison, Hesston

Courtney Anthony, Ulysses

Brooke Banning, Lenexa

Joel Boettger, Hesston

James Goerzen, Newton

Guadalupe Gonzalez, Newton

Emily Harder, Newton

Megan Leary, North Newton

Carl Lehmann, Marion, S.D.

Audra Miller, Hesston

Martin Olson, Denver, Colo.

Jared Regehr, Halstead

Stephanie Shogren, Hesston

Megan Siebert, Topeka

Nicole Smith, Elkhart, Ind.

Marike Stucky, Moundridge

Rebecca Trumble, Newton

Aaron Tschetter, Freeman, S.D.

Austin Unruh, Goessel

Jocelyn Wilkinson, San Antonio, Texas


● Minority Mentors

Erin Bradley, senior, Newton

Edward Davila, senior, Hesston

Edmond Ngong, senior, Chevy Chase, Md.

Travon Lewis, junior, Houston, Texas

● Service Corps student representative – Leah Towle (junior, Lawrence)

● Service trip chair – Emily Simpson (junior, Lebanon, Tenn.)

● Service Learning Scholarship recipients

Karl Buller (junior, Hesston)

Chaz Dahda (junior, Topeka)

Rebecca Epp (junior, North Newton)

Breanna Golden (freshman, Salina)

Laura Jensen (junior, Everest)

Haleigh Kerr (sophomore, North Newton)

Clarie Koehn (senior, Cottonwood Falls)

Katelyn Melgren

Leah Mueller (junior, Halstead)

Laurel Nagengast (junior, Lawrence)

Kaitlyn Preheim (senior, Peabody)

Zachary Preheim (freshman, Peabody)

Katrina Regehr (freshman, Whitewater)

Melinda Regehr (junior, Whitewater)

Bryna Rietcheck (freshman, Bavaria)

Helen Simmons (freshman, Manhattan)

Spencer Suderman (senior, McPherson)

Peyton Wright (freshman, Maize)

● Student Senate Executive Board

B.J. Heffernan, president (senior, Evergreen, Colo.)

Andrew Walker, vice president (senior, Newton)

Lina Adame, secretary (junior, Newton)

Kyle Riesen, treasurer (sophomore, Beatrice, Neb.)


● Champions of Character leaders

Lina Adame (soccer)

Sebastian Canales (junior, Phoenix; soccer)

Cody Cape (sophomore, McPherson; basketball)

Sarah Cunningham (junior, Oskaloosa; softball)

Edward Davila (football and cheer)

Erin Doerksen (sophomore, Newton; tennis and cheer)

Jessica Ebenkamp (softball)

Olivia Gehring (cross country)

Laird Goertzen (sophomore, Goessel; cross country)

Wesley Goodrich (senior, Independence; tennis)

Alex Hagan (junior, Flower Mound, Texas; soccer)

Kara Hiebert (volleyball)

Jared Kaufman (senior, Moundridge; football)

Jenson Kingsley (sophomore, Newton; basketball and tennis)

Katie Regier (senior, Whitewater; basketball and volleyball)

Victoria Roberts (junior, Sedgwick; softball)

Ethan Rodenberg (junior, Halstead; golf)

Alli Rudeen (track and field)

Chris Santoya (senior, Newton; golf)

Alyssa Scheuerman (junior, Scott City; tennis)

Natalie Unruh (sophomore, Clay Center; cross country)

Samantha Wilkerson (senior, Neosho Rapids; basketball)

Jerrell Williams (track and field).

● Resident assistants

Mariah Ekart (junior, Wamego)

Trever Ford (junior, Canon City, Colo.)

Gabe Garza (sophomore, San Antonio, Texas)

Wesley Goodrich

Kathryn Kelman (sophomore, Fort Worth, Texas)

Brandon Pratt (senior, San Antonio, Texas)

Travon Lewis

Marvin Rice

Emily Simpson

Jerrell Williams

The second half of the convocation was the address given each fall by the winner of that year’s Ralph P. Schrag Distinguished Teaching Award, which went to Sarah Masem, assistant professor of nursing (awarded at commencement last May).

Masem earned her associate degree in nursing from Hesston College, her Bachelor of Science in Nursing from Tabor College and her Master of Science in Nursing Education from Fort Hays State University. Before joining the Bethel faculty in 2009, she worked at Newton Medical Center as a critical care nurse and as the employee health coordinator in infection control. Prior to that, she served as Director of Nursing and health educator at the Harvey County Health Department.

“Sarah’s teaching has been excellent, as judged by student course evaluations and feedback from peers who have observed her classroom and clinical instruction,” Born said in his introduction. “Students consistently give her very high ratings for her teaching strategies, organization, facilitating of student involvement and availability for individual help.”

Masem titled her address “Nursing: Beyond the Shot.” She gave an overview of nursing education at Bethel College, including the wide variety of areas in which students learn and get practical experience. She focused in particular on one of her areas of special interest, public health nursing.

Bethel College is the only private, liberal arts college in Kansas listed in the 2013-14 analysis of top colleges and universities in the United States, and is the highest-ranked Kansas college in the Washington Monthly annual college guide for 2013-14. The four-year liberal arts college is affiliated with Mennonite Church USA. For more information, see

Back to News