Subscribe to RSS

Bethel College announces presidential search committee

1200px 650px

NORTH NEWTON, KAN. -- The Bethel College Board of Directors has named a 10-person search committee to seek a replacement for college president E. LaVerne Epp, who will leave the position Nov. 15, 2005. Earlier, Danielle Goering, Phoenix and Moundridge, was appointed to chair the committee. In March, when Epp announced his plans to step down, the board approved the appointment of John Sheriff, vice president for academic affairs and academic dean, as interim president, beginning Nov. 15. Brad Born, associate professor of English, will serve as interim academic dean.

The search committee is made up of representatives from the board, the Bethel College faculty and administration and the Mennonite Education Agency (MEA) of Mennonite Church USA, with which Bethel College is affiliated.

Bethel board representatives to the search committee are, in addition to Goering: Walter Dyck, Temple, Texas; Melvin Goering, Santa Fe, N.M.; Ray Penner, North Newton; and James Voth, Newton. Faculty representatives are Ami Regier, associate professor of English, and Richard Zerger, professor of chemistry. Representing the Bethel College Administrative Cabinet is Sondra Koontz, vice president for advancement. Serving in ex officio roles are MEA board representative Ed Diller, Fort Thomas, Ky., and Bethel board chair Greg Gaeddert, Leawood.

"We have a strong committee in place to begin our search for Bethel’s next president," said Danielle Goering. "I am grateful to these individuals for their commitment to the college’s future."

Bethel College is a four-year liberal arts college affiliated with Mennonite Church USA. Founded in 1887, it is the oldest Mennonite college in North America. Bethel is known for its academic excellence and in 2004 was named a Top Tier college by U.S. News & World Report for the 7th straight year. For more information, see the Bethel web site at

Back to News