"/> Bethel Nursing Department honors students with lamplighting | Bethel College, KS
Please consider saving paper, ink, and electricity instead of printing.
Seek. Serve. Grow.

The combination of community, service, and academics are what stand out to me about [being a] Thresher. With small classes, attentive professors, and the focus on service…students get the opportunity to excel in multiple areas.
Cassidy McFadden ’12

Subscribe to RSS

Bethel Nursing Department honors students with lamplighting

1200px 650px

NORTH NEWTON, KAN. -- The Bethel College Department of Nursing honored 38 students in its annual lamplighting ceremony, held Sunday, Feb. 13, in the Administration Building chapel on the college campus. This particular ceremony honors upper-class nursing students for their commitment to the profession. The lamps used symbolize the work of British nurse Florence Nightingale (1820-1910), the founder of modern nursing, who served soldiers in the Crimean War. She was called "the nurse with the lamp" because of the shadow she cast on the wall as she made her night rounds, lighted by a lamp.

The speaker for the ceremony was Vallerie L. Gleason, vice president of physician services at Newton Medical Center, whose topic was "A Single Flame -- The Power of One."

The students honored at the lamplighting were: Patty Agoitia, Maize; Stacy Angell, Valley Center; Kathleen Antonowich, Newton; Mohammed Aziz, Wichita; Mambu Bayoh, Houston, Texas; Willena Beemer, Wichita; Catherine Bender, McPherson; Elijah Birundu, Wichita; Katrina Brodhagen, North Newton; Anna Bucklin, Mountain Lake, Minn.; Doña Carriker, Colby; Mary Eagle, Newton; Kristal Forrester, Wichita; Celestine Garcia, Derby; Mary Giordenella, Wichita; Christopher Hornbostel, Louisville, Colo.; Lisa Harris, Newton; Jamie Hart, Hutchinson; Mary Haws, Fort Collins, Colo.; Frances Hixson, Wichita; Elizabeth Lamer, Salina; Amber McCoy, Haysville; Carmilla Mbati, Wichita; Margaret Olanya, Wichita; Danielle Phillips, Herington; Rhiannon Schrag, Halstead; Nikole Sengvilay, Wichita; Amber Shepherd, Newton; Allison Simon, Derby; Brandon Smith, Inman; Janelle Steiner, Albany, Ore.; Barry Turner II, Newton; Sheila Watson, Wichita; Shelly Wedel, North Newton; Cavan Winn, Wichita.

Back to News