Subscribe to RSS

Bethel College honors students at Awards Convocation

1200px 650px

NORTH NEWTON, KAN. -- Bethel College students were honored at the college's annual Awards Convocation May 14. The convocation, held at the end of each spring semester, recognizes academic excellence over the past academic year. Bethel College honored seven graduating seniors with the Thresher Award for academic excellence. Thresher Awards went to Tory A. Doerksen, Prescott Valley, Ariz., in Music; Chris Janzen, Fresno, Calif., in Art; Jeremy Schrag, Moundridge, in Forensics; Samuel Schrag, Wichita, in History and Bible and Religion; Stephanie Sowers, Hesston, in Social Sciences; Rebekah Kathleen Trollinger, Bluffton, Ohio, English; and Chad Unrau, Goessel, Physics.

The Gerald Schrag Award in Mathematical Sciences was presented to James M. Powers, graduating senior and computer science major from Newton. The award honors Powers for excellence in the field of computer science during his four years at Bethel College.

The Dorothy Wedel Kaufman Honor Scholarships in English were presented to junior English majors Ben Gundy, Bluffton, Ohio; Shelley Gruenbacher, Colwich; and Elizabeth Zerger, McPherson. The scholarship is intended to support and encourage the pursuit of excellence in English.

Goethe Institute German Language Awards for academic excellence in German classes were presented to senior Allison Penner, West Chester, Ohio; junior Jimmy Charles, Clearwater; sophomore Matt Kaiser, Inman; and freshman Braden Ross Hiebner, Hampton, Neb.

Nine athletes were honored for receiving the National Association of Intercollegiate Athletics All-American Scholar Athlete Award. They are seniors Kate Becker, Newton, soccer; Erin Gingerich-Gaylord, Wichita, soccer; Adrian Howie, Little River, basketball; James LaPish, Captain Cook, Hawaii, football; Chad Unrau, Goessel, football; Zach Unruh, Hillsboro, soccer; Rachel Walker, Osawatomie, soccer; and juniors Kris R. Hiebner, Henderson, Neb., soccer; and Joseph Penner, Reedley, Calif., soccer.

Bethel College athletes honored in convocation for receiving the Kansas Collegiate Athletic Conference Academic All-Conference Awards were sophomores Anna Nickel Bucklin, Mountain Lake, Minn., track; Jessica Lynn Garner, Wichita, soccer; Hannah Klaassen, Whitewater, volleyball and basketball; Paula Jayne Regier, Beatrice, Neb., soccer and track; Christa Taylor, Kidron, Ohio, tennis; Steph Thimm, Beatrice, Neb., volleyball; and Nathan S. Voss, Cheney, football; juniors Russell Adrian, Butterfield, Minn., cross country and track; Kara Bartell, Halstead, volleyball; Kris R. Hiebner, Henderson, Neb., soccer; Tony Hoops, Byron, Neb., basketball; Ryan M. Lohfink, Holcomb, basketball; JulieAnn M. Minns, Wichita, soccer; Sally Jean Nietfeld, Home, basketball; Joseph Penner, Reedley, Calif., soccer; and Lance Tally, Madison, basketball; and seniors Kate Becker, Newton, basketball and soccer; Danielle Nicole Billings, Hesston, volleyball; Tiffany DeHaven, Sedgwick, basketball; Erin Gingerich-Gaylord, Wichita, soccer; Adrian Howie, Little River, basketball; Kira Kindall, Minneapolis (Kan.), volleyball; James LaPish, Captain Cook, Hawaii, football; Matthew J. Schmidt, North Newton, football; Lauren Symmonds, Emporia, basketball; Chad Unrau, Goessel, football and track; Zach Unruh, Hillsboro, soccer; Rachel Walker, Osawatomie, soccer; and Jonathan Wiebe, Newton, cross country.

Graduating senior Samuel Schrag was named the Mennonite Contributions Contest winner at Bethel College. He is a history and Bible and religion major from Wichita. The award honors students who have made a significant contribution to Mennonite or Anabaptist studies.

Local winners of the C. Henry Smith Peace Oratorical Contest were announced at the awards convocation. They are junior Jesse Zerger Nathan, Moundridge, first place; senior Samuel Schrag, Wichita, second place; and senior Joel F. Goering, Silver Spring, Md., third place.

The Kansas Associated Collegiate Press (KACP) awarded "The Bethel Collegian" a bronze medal in the over-all, four-year private college newspaper category. Students receiving individual KACP awards were juniors Jesse Zerger Nathan, Moundridge, honorable mention for feature writing and editorial writing; David Stucky, Moundridge, honorable mention for feature writing; and Eunice M. Voth, Goessel, honorable mention for photo essay.

Students selected to receive the Bethel College Summer 2004 Undergraduate Research Awards were named. They are seniors Giovanni Jerome Garofalo, Newton, in psychology; and Lauren Symmonds, Emporia, in psychology; and juniors Kelley O'Reilly, Mountain Lake, Minn., in psychology; Jesse Overright, Normal, Ill., in computer science; and Elizabeth Rempel, Newton, in psychology.

Critical Writing Awards for excellence in writing were presented to freshmen Peter Goerzen, Goessel; Heidi Johnson, Topeka; and Timothy Joseph Parker, Moundridge.

The 2004 CRC Press Chemistry Achievement Award was presented to sophomore Matt Kaiser, Inman, for outstanding scholastic achievement during lower-level chemistry courses at Bethel College.

Junior Rae Anna Dain, Wichita, received an award in recognition of her presentation at the National Conference on Undergraduate Research. Dain is a psychology and computer science major.

Chelsea Vaught received the Walter and Elsbeth Hohmann Music Award for achievement of an upper-level keyboard major. Vaught is a sophomore music major from Henderson, Neb.

Joel Hesed, junior from Pawnee Rock, received the Writing Fellowship Award. The award and post as writing consultant are given to an English major who has demonstrated excellence in writing.

Four Bethel College students were named Shodor Education Foundation Scholars. Junior Kenton Nickel, Goessel, sophomores Rae Anna Dain, Wichita, and Steph Thimm, Beatrice, Neb., and freshman Allison Kaye Pafume, Wichita, were chosen to help science teachers learn a software program called STELLA at a three-week summer workshop on campus.

Junior Eric R. Stucky, Galva, received the Henry W. Claassen Endowed Scholarship Award. The award is designed to reward and encourage a historian who shows exceptional promise. Stucky received the award for his research on the origins of modern nationalism and Mennonite mission work among Native Americans.

The Ray and Betty Funk Prize for Entrepreneurship was awarded to Ashis Sahu, senior from Darjeeling, India. The prize was established to stimulate entrepreneurial thinking among Bethel College students. Sahu's winning proposal was for a low-fat, fast food restaurant called "Curry 'n' Kebobs."

Back to News