An Inspiring Challenge

You can provide life-shaping experiences for our students with your gift to the Bethel College Fund!

Give Today!

Alumni | Give to BC | Athletics | Fine Arts | Thresher Connect | Search


Fairmount String Quartet to perform at Bethel College

September 11th, 2017

NORTH NEWTON, KAN. – Fairmount String Quartet will perform at 7:30 p.m., Monday, Oct. 13 in the Administration Building Chapel at Bethel College, North Newton. Admission is free and open to the public. The quartet will present "String Quartet in D Major, No. 6 (The Frog)" by Joseph Haydn, "String Quartet" by Samuel Barber and "String Quartet in F Major" by Maurice Ravel.

Named for Fairmount College, the original name of Wichita State University (WSU), the Fairmount String Quartet is the faculty quartet in residence at WSU. Ensemble members are John Harrison and Nancy Luttrell on violin, Catherine Consiglio on viola and Andrew Kolb on cello.

The performers have each achieved excellence in their musical professions.

Harrison, professor of violin at WSU, is concertmaster of the Wichita Symphony Orchestra and a regular substitute for the Boston Symphony Orchestra and the Boston Pops Orchestra.

Lutrell is associate concertmaster of the Wichita Symphony Orchestra and associate professor of violin at WSU. A member of the Wiedemann Trio, she has also served as associate concertmaster of the Bellingham (Wash.) Music Festival Orchestra.

Consiglio is associate professor of viola at WSU and principal violist of the Wichita Symphony Orchestra. One of the founders of the Chamber Music at The Barn summer concert series in Wichita, she serves as its artistic director.

Kolb is assistant professor of cello at WSU and principal cellist of the Wichita Symphony Orchestra. He performs as soloist in international settings. He recently premiered new works by American composers for a festival in Sweden and the Scandinavian House in New York City.

The performance will begin with the finale from Haydn's "String Quartet in D Major," composed in 1787 for King Friedrich Wilhelm II of Prussia. It features fast string crossings that imitate a frog's croaking.

The quartet will also perform "String Quartet," by 20th century composer Samuel Barber, including the famous and beloved "Adagio for Strings." The concert will conclude with Ravel's only string quartet, "String Quartet in F Major," a lively piece that employs several time signatures.

The Sinfonia concert scheduled for Oct. 13 has been cancelled.

The chapel is handicapped accessible.

About Bethel

As the first Mennonite college founded in North America, Bethel College celebrates a tradition of progressive Christian liberal arts education, diversity within community, and lifelong learning.