COVID-19 Update-->


Alumni | Give to BC | Athletics | Fine Arts | Moodle | Thresher Connect | Search


Dao is Bethel recipient of memorial scholarship from state foundation

August 7th, 2018

Candy Dao

The Kansas Independent Colleges Foundation (KICF) has named the 19 recipients of the Maud Wyatt Memorial Scholarship for 2018, including Bethel senior Candy Dao.

The Maud Wyatt Educational Trust was bequeathed to the KICF in 1961, with funds “to be fairly and equitably distributed among the private colleges and universities which may be participants” in the KICF and “for the sole purpose of aiding in their general educational work.”

KICF established the KICF Recognition Scholarship in 1995 as a way to distribute the Wyatt Trust funds. The Recognition Scholarship was awarded to one student from one of the KICF’s 19 member institutions each year.

Bethel students have received the Recognition Scholarship five times, including in 2017, when it went to Kiley Varney, a 2018 graduate from Hesston.

In late 2017, KICF leadership decided to change how Wyatt Trust income was distributed, re-designating the funds to be used for the KICF-Maud Wyatt Memorial Scholarships, one for each KICF member institution in good standing.

Dao is a senior from Salina, majoring in biology on a pre-medicine track. She is also a member of the Bethel College forensics team, qualifying for the national tournament all three of her years of competition.

Recipients are selected on the basis of their academic achievements and their contributions to their community during their collegiate career.

In the scholarship applications, each recipient must demonstrate leadership, character, attention to academic excellence, an appreciation for the impact that a private college education has had on her/his life and how that education has prepared her/him for a lifetime of personal and professional fulfillment.

“Receiving the Maud Wyatt Trust scholarship meant a lot to me,” Dao said, “because not only did it make the choices that I have made when considering college significant, it gave me a little light of hope for the future, whether it be in academics or even leadership in many communities.”

KICF member institutions, in addition to Bethel College, are Baker University, Benedictine College, Bethany College, Central Christian College of Kansas, Cleveland University Kansas City, Donnelly College, Friends University, Hesston College, Kansas Wesleyan University, McPherson College, Manhattan Christian College, MidAmerica Nazarene University, Newman University, Ottawa University, Southwestern College, Sterling College, Tabor College and the University of Saint Mary. Learn more at

The KICF, located in Topeka and established in 1952, is a 501(c)3 organization that develops and enhances the competitive standing of its 19 member institutions – independent, non-profit, regionally accredited, degree-granting colleges and universities. KICF strives to assure opportunity and choice in higher education for all students.

Bethel College is a four-year liberal arts college is affiliated with Mennonite Church USA. For more information, see

Bethel College does not discriminate on the basis of race, color, religion, creed, age, gender, sexual orientation, parental or marital status, gender identity, gender expression, medical or genetic information, ethnic or national origins, citizenship status, veteran or military status or disability. E-mail questions to

About Bethel

As the first Mennonite college founded in North America, Bethel College celebrates a tradition of progressive Christian liberal arts education, diversity within community, and lifelong learning.