COVID-19 Update-->


Alumni | Give to BC | Athletics | Fine Arts | Moodle | Thresher Connect | Search


Bethel College honors students at Awards Convocation

September 11th, 2017

NORTH NEWTON, KAN. - Bethel College students were honored at the college's Awards Convocation May 12. The convocation, held at the end of each spring semester, recognizes academic excellence.

Thresher Awards

Seven graduating Bethel College seniors received the Thresher Award, one of the highest academic honors at Bethel College. The Thresher Award is given to seniors for outstanding and sustained contribution in performance areas, for outstanding creative achievement in the applied sciences, or for completion of an outstanding and substantial academic project.

Ian Gingrich-Gaylord, an art and music major from Wichita, received the Thresher Award in Music.

Christopher Ryan Graber, a communication arts major from Newton, received the Thresher Award in Forensics.

Aziza Hasan, a history and social science major from Halstead, received the Thresher Award in Forensics.

Amy Kaufman, a mathematical sciences major from Marion, S.D., received the Thresher Award in Mathematics.

Michael W. Klein, a psychology major from Durham, received the Thresher Award in Psychology.

Luke Schmidt, a chemistry and physics major from Peabody, received the Thresher Award in Physics.

Cindi S. Smith, a social work major from Hutchinson, received the Thresher Award in Social Work.

Other Awards

The Gerald Schrag Award in Mathematics was presented to Emily Suter, graduating senior and mathematical sciences major from Bluffton, Ohio. The award honors Suter for excellence in mathematics during her four years at Bethel College.

Graduating senior James Regier was named the Mennonite Contributions Contest winner at Bethel College. He is a German and history major from Haven. Regier received the award for his social science seminar paper about the efforts of German Mennonites to come to terms with their experiences of Nazism. The award honors students who have made a significant contribution to Mennonite or Anabaptist studies.

Graduating senior nursing students Cherie Blair from Newton, Amy Brunk from Inman, Melissa Jost from Hillsboro, Jamie Kaminkow from Moundridge and Erin Rosfeld from Goessel received purple cords at the convocation to signify their induction into Sigma Theta Tau International, the international nursing honor society.

Junior Chad Unrau, Goessel, received the 2002-03 Kansas Collegiate Athletic Conference (KCAC) A.O. Duer Award for excellence in athletics and academics. KCAC presents the award annually to two student athletes who are juniors and who have excelled on the conference level. Unrau was one of 20 athletes in the country to be named a conference A.O. Duer Award recipient.

Goethe Institute German Language Awards for academic excellence in German classes were presented to senior James Regier from Haven, junior Chad Unrau from Goessel, sophomore Jimmy Charles from Clearwater and freshman Johann Reimer from Reedley, Calif.

Critical Writing Awards for excellence in writing were presented to freshmen Rachel Voth from Topeka, Rae Anna Dain from Wichita, Jonathan Root from Topeka and Matthew K. Steinmetz from Bluffton, Ohio.

The 2003 CRC Press Chemistry Achievement Award was presented to freshman Daniel Unruh from Peabody for outstanding scholastic achievement during the freshman chemistry courses at Bethel College.

Local winners of the C. Henry Smith Peace Oratorical Contest were announced. They are Jeremy Schrag, junior from Moundridge, first place; Rachel Voth, freshman from Topeka, second place; and Emily Suter, senior from Bluffton, Ohio, third place.

Eight athletes were honored for receiving the National Association of Intercollegiate Athletics All-American Scholar Athlete Award. They are senior Kate Becker, Newton, soccer and basketball; junior Tiffany DeHaven, Sedgwick, basketball; junior Erin Gingrich-Gaylord, Wichita, soccer; senior James LaPish, Captain Cook, Hawaii, football; senior Yvette Peters, Goessel, volleyball; senior Emily Suter, Bluffton, Ohio, soccer; senior Kristine Thimm, Beatrice, Neb., soccer; and junior Chad Unrau, Goessel, football.

Bethel College athletes honored in convocation for receiving the KCAC Academic All-Conference Awards were sophomore Russell Adrian, Butterfield, Minn., track; senior Garry Albright, Inman, basketball; sophomore Daniel Anderson, Apple Valley, Minn.; football and track; senior Kate Becker, Newton, soccer and basketball; junior Jacey Boese, Hillsboro, track; junior Tiffany DeHaven, Sedgwick, basketball; senior Brett D. Esau, Beatrice, Neb., basketball; senior Joel Gerber, Harper, football; junior Erin Gingrich-Gaylord, Wichita, soccer; sophomore Kris R. Hiebner, Henderson, Neb., soccer; sophomore Tony Hoops, Bryon, Neb., basketball and track; junior Adrian Howie, Little River, basketball; junior Kira Kindall, Minneapolis, volleyball; senior Brett Klingenberg, Peabody, track; senior James LaPish, Captain Cook, Hawaii, football; senior Megan Mowery, Hutchinson, tennis; senior Nicole Patton, Wichita, soccer; sophomore Joseph Penner, Reedley, Calif., soccer; senior Yvette Peters, Goessel, volleyball and track; senior Alan Stucky, Goessel, football; sophomore Bryan Stucky, Garden City, tennis; senior Emily Suter, Bluffton, Ohio, soccer; sophomore Lauren Symmonds, Emporia, basketball; senior Kristine Thimm, Beatrice, Neb., soccer; senior Tina Troyer, Colorado Springs, Colo., tennis; and junior Chad Unrau, Goessel, football and track; senior Jonathan Wiebe, Newton, track.

Graduating seniors Sophia Muthuraj, Kristine Thimm, and Michael Klein were given awards during convocation in recognition of their presentations at the National Conference on Undergraduate Research and the acceptance of their papers for publication in the proceedings of the conference. Muthuraj is an English and psychology major from Bangalore, Karnataka, India; Thimm is a German and psychology major from Beatrice, Neb.; and Klein is a psychology major from Durham.

The Dorothy Wedel Kaufman Honor Scholarships in English were presented to senior English majors Rebekah Trollinger from Bluffton, Ohio, and Rachel Walker from Osawatomie.

Students selected to receive the Bethel College Summer 2003 Undergraduate Research Awards were named. They are Danielle Billings, junior from Hesston, in biology; John Eads, junior from Denver City, Texas, in business and economics; Joel Gaeddert, freshman from Leawood, in psychology and biology; Matt J. Schmidt, senior from Walton, in biology and chemistry; Lora Swartzendruber, junior from Plano, Texas, in psychology; Rebekah Trollinger, senior from Bluffton, Ohio, in English; and Chad Unrau, junior from Goessel, in physics.

About Bethel

As the first Mennonite college founded in North America, Bethel College celebrates a tradition of progressive Christian liberal arts education, diversity within community, and lifelong learning.