COVID-19 Information-->

Menu

Alumni | Give to BC | Athletics | Fine Arts | Moodle | Thresher Connect | Search

Academics

Music

We want to talk to you directly about your interests in music. Please consider scheduling a campus visit. We will have you meet with our music faculty and even have you join a class or a rehearsal, if you request.

You can choose one of our audition days each semester – reach out to our admissions department with questions about audition opportunities and audition days.

Performance opportunities

As a Bethel student, you'll have numerous opportunities to participate in one or more of our musical ensembles. If you plan to study music or you simply want to participate in a group, we welcome all interested students into our ensembles.

These include

  • Concert Choir
  • Jazz ensembles
  • Women's Chorus or Men's Ensemble
  • Wind Ensemble or chamber orchestra
  • Steel Drum Band
  • Threshold (athletic band)
  • Woven (women's a cappella) or Open Road (men's a cappella)

Well-rounded

Because Bethel is a liberal-arts institution, you’ll learn to

  • think critically
  • ask good questions
  • communicate effectively through speaking and writing

You’ll put music into its context of history, literature and other fine arts, which situates you well for

  • graduate school
  • teaching
  • a performance career
Paragraphs
  • Masters in Collaborative Piano
  • Masters in Education
  • Masters in Orchestral Conducting
  • Masters in Performance:
    • Trombone
    • Jazz Saxophone
    • Voice
    • Trumpet
    • Double bass
  • Doctorates in Musicology
  • Doctorates in Choral Conducting

Bethel College prepares students to succeed wherever their passions take them.

Notable Alumni

Rachel de Benedet – ’88

Rachel de Benedet is a professional actor in New York City with roles in the national tour of Camelot, the Broadway production of The Addams Family and she created the role of “Paula Abegnale” in the world premiere of Catch Me If You Can, played at the Chicago Goodman Theater.

Dan Hege – ’87

Dan Hege is conductor of the Wichita Symphony Orchestra, Binghamton symphony and Principal visiting Conductor of the Tulsa Symphony

Rachel Dirks – ’92

Rachel Dirks is an instructor of orchestra and cello at Kansas State University.

Arthur Marks – ’93

Arthur Marks is a professional actor in New York City and he was featured in the first American cast recording of Honk.

Dr. Paul Crabb – ’76

Dr. Paul Crabb is Director of Choral Activities at the University of Missouri.

Grace Bradfield – ’17

Grace Bradfield is in graduate school in Dentistry in Kansas City, MO.

Jordan Ortman – ’13

Jordan Ortman has completed his Master degree in Piano Pedagogy at the University of Northern Colorado. He is currently on faculty at Metro State University and plays professionally in the Denver area.

Joel Linscheid – ’08

Joel Linscheid is pursuing doctoral work at the New England Conservatory of Music in Boston.

Brett Jackson – ’08

Brett Jackson is an adjunct collegiate teacher in Kansas City and playing professionally in Kansas City.

Amy Regier – ’02

Amy Regier teaches elementary music in the Newton Pubic system and teaches Methods and Materials for Teaching Vocal Music at Bethel College.

Major requirements for Music:
36 hours plus piano competency
Major requirements for Music teacher licensure:
59 hours, including 7 hours in the major performance medium, piano and guitar competency and aural skills competency, plus completion of professional education requirements.
Minor requirements for Music:
16 hours

Matt Blauer

Adjunct instructor of trombone

mblauer@bethelks.edu

Joel Boettger

Director of bands / Assistant professor of music

jboettger@bethelks.edu

Kay Buskirk

Adjunct instructor of viola

kbuskirk@bethelks.edu

Soyoun Chun

Adjunct associate professor of music / Adjunct instructor of music (voice)

schun@bethelks.edu

William Eash

Professor and chair of music / Director of choral activities

weash@bethelks.edu

Seth Girton

Adjunct instructor of cello

sgirton@bethelks.edu

Howard Glanton

Adjunct instructor of guitar

hglanton@bethelks.edu

Zach Hague

Adjunct instructor of bassoon

zhague@bethelks.edu

Donna Hetrick

Adjunct instructor of organ

dhetrick@bethelks.edu

Kristopher Hilding

Adjunct instructor of music

kjhilding@bethelks.edu

Meredith Jenkins

Adjunct instructor of horn

mjenkins@bethelks.edu

Nancy Johnson

Adjunct instructor of violin

nsjohnson@bethelks.edu

Christina Liu

Assistant professor of music

ctliu@bethelks.edu

Kristin Shaffer

Adjunct instructor of flute

kshaffer@bethelks.edu

Brad Shores

Director of pep band and steel band / Director of summer programs

bshores@bethelks.edu

Cindy Thompson

Adjunct instructor of oboe and English horn

cthompson@bethelks.edu

Kimberly Trujillo

Adjunct instructor of percussion

ktrujillo@bethelks.edu

About Bethel

As the first Mennonite college founded in North America, Bethel College celebrates a tradition of progressive Christian liberal arts education, diversity within community, and lifelong learning.