Please consider saving paper, ink, and electricity instead of printing.
Seek. Serve. Grow.

Bethel was my window to the world and to myself.
Daniel Hege ’87

Alumni Council

The mission of the Office of Alumni Relations is to renew or enhance already existing relationships of alumni—near and far, and of various ages and interests—with the college and among each other, so that they support the institution by volunteering, praying, giving, and encouraging students to attend, even as these alumni benefit by networking and supporting each other.

In support of that mission, a 25-member Alumni Council represents the Alumni Association, advises alumni office staff and implements special projects and programs to support the college. Members serve three-year terms and may renew for a second term. In addition, Alumni Association representatives to the Board of Directors also serve on the Alumni Council.

The council holds six meetings during the year—in August, September, November, January, March and April. In October, members participate in Fall Festival. In February, they conduct an annual fund-raising phonathon. In June, members help with Alumni Weekend. A picnic for those who are new, returning or leaving is also held in June. No meetings are held in July and December.

Through various committees, the Alumni Council:

Council members and staff 2014–15

Bethel College Alumni Council members for 2014–15 are (from left):

Front row:

  • Kathy Preheim ’89, Peabody
  • Bev Baumgartner ’94, Newton
  • Shirley Delk ’73, Sedgwick
  • Debbie Claassen ’85, Whitewater
  • Monica Schmidt ’11, Newton
  • Sonia Barrera ’11, Newton
  • Zach Unruh ’04, Hesston
  • Sarah Hershberger ’03, Newton,
  • Byron Rupp ’93, Andover

Second row:

  • Nathan Dick ’83, Newton
  • Ray Penner ’66, North Newton
  • Nate Regier, ’90, Newton
  • Linda Buller ’70, Wichita
  • Greg Bartel ’78, Newton
  • Evan Fast ’10, Hesston
  • Delbert Peters, ’75, Goessel
  • Greg Shelly ’11, Wichita

Not pictured:

  • David Weaver, ’85, Hesston
  • Jeanette Grantstein ’75, Wichita
  • Christy Shunn-Sebes ’92, North Newton
  • Dave Linscheid ’75, Newton, director of alumni relations
  • Wendy Nugent, administrative assistant, Newton

Photo by Wendy Nugent

Executive Committee 2013–14

  • Monica Schmidt ’11, Newton (president)
  • Kathy Preheim ’89, Peabody (recorder)
  • Linda Buller ’70, Wichita (representative to the board)
  • Ray Penner ’66, North Newton (representative to the board through December 2014)
  • Dave Linscheid ’75, North Newton (director of alumni relations)

Alumni Association representatives to the Board of Directors 2014–15

  • Brett Birky ’87, Denver
  • Linda Buller ’70, Wichita
  • Ray Penner ’66, North Newton (though December 2014)